South African Tourism (SA Tourism) has welcomed the news from the Department of Home Affairs that New Zealand and six other countries have been added to the visa waiver list for travel to South Africa.

Citizens of New Zealand will not need visas to enter South Africa for holiday purposes and business visits for a period up to 90 days as from 15 August 2019. 

The announcement was made by the Minister of Home Affairs, Dr Aaron Motsoaledi, during the Department of Home Affairs Budget Vote speech in South Africa on 11 July.

“This is amazing news and could not have come at a better time for the tourism industry,” said SA Tourism Acting CEO, Sthembiso Dlamini.

“As we look to achieve our 5-in-5 goals which are to increase international tourist arrivals by 4 million and domestic holiday trips by 1 million, the visa waivers will go a long way to assisting the increase of tourist arrivals into South Africa.”

“The visa waivers to countries in all of our key markets will ensure that we stimulate growth in the industry that is in line with the mandate issued to us by President Cyril Ramaphosa,” added Dlamini.


Contact us to start planning your next event to South Africa with Dragonfly Africa.